Navigating Challenges: The Road to Becoming a Cybersecurity Professional

Maria from Tech4Dev
2 min readNov 30, 2023

--

I am Oluwabusayo Aseto, a graduate of Yaba College of Technology with a Higher National Diploma in Computer Science. Despite coming from a family where education wasn’t highly valued, my mother’s love for education inspired me to strive for a difference. I worked hard to sponsor my National Diploma and Higher National Diploma.

During my final year, I discovered my passion for Cybersecurity and decided to pursue it further. I enrolled for Network+ at New Horizon Ikeja and later received a scholarship for a BSc in Cybersecurity at EC-Council University in 2021. Unfortunately, I couldn’t continue my degree due to the scholarship not covering all of my tuition fees. However, I didn’t let this setback discourage me. I continued my self-study and pursued opportunities to enhance my skills.

My tech journey has had its challenges, including obstacles such as age, having an HND certificate, and my CGPA, which affected my job hunting prospects. However, I remained undeterred and confident in my abilities. I continuously upskilled and applied for any opportunity that would allow me to showcase my skills.

It was during this time that my mentor informed me about the Women Techsters Fellowship application. Intrigued by the opportunity it presented, I applied for the Fellowship, considering my interest in Cybersecurity and the fact that I couldn’t continue my BSc at EC-Council University.

The Women Techsters Fellowship has been a pivotal experience on my path to success. Within two months of the training’s commencement, I obtained my first global certificate — the Certified in Cybersecurity. Alongside that, I gained proficiency in various areas such as Linux, Virtualization, and Domain Controller deployment. The Fellowship provided me with the courage, knowledge, and skills to excel in my Certified in Cybersecurity exam and subsequent interviews.

Some of my proudest moments stem from my time in my Cybersecurity training during the Women Techsters Fellowship, my internship at Infoprive, and the day I received my employment letter as a Cybersecurity Offense Analyst at Esentry.

Moving forward, I am eager to pursue a master’s degree in Cybersecurity and contribute to the cybersecurity community by mentoring young techies in the field.

Watch Oluwabusayo’s story

--

--

Maria from Tech4Dev

We are a non-profit social enterprise that creates access to decent work and entrepreneurship opportunities and platforms for Africans through digital skills.